Barcelona Day 1 & 2

A lot has happened since last I wrote. I have obtained a working position with Deljou Art group. As well as depositing my enrollment fee to trasfer to SCAD & soon will be moving to Atlanta. I’m sure there is much more, but for now I will keep things simple.

My mother and I are in Barcelona & will be leaving tomorrow on a Cruise to France, Italy, & Croatia!

Day 1 Barcelona

Long day, tons of energy, all spent walking until our feet were tired. We have seen so much, and I was most impressed by the design & architecture. The close attention to detail is amazing, and simple. I tried raspberry sorbet & Belgian chocolate gelato, chocolate croissant, espresso, fresh eggs with orange middles. I mean everything is just fresh. The air is crisp and clean, but a little windier than I had expected. Monuments/areas seen: Gothic cathedrals, las ramblas-open air mall type, modern/post modern apartment style homes,. The elevators are about 6 sq feet, small but it allows engagement of conversation. The children play and laugh in the streets & it’s so peaceful when you look up and all you see is beautiful designs. It brought up an important idea for me. As a designer it’s important to design something beautiful, but if you can design for the best life style possible then that is even more important. People want lasting memories, a treasure of the past, present, and future. Give the people something to grasp, smell, play, or work with. CoCo Channel, LV, and Burberry are all well designed retail shops for example, but the city itself-it’s traditions are what you remember and love. The rest will live on.

Day 2 Barcelona

Short day, because we took a bus 26 Euros each, to see pretty much everything else in Barcelona. It was a great overview without as much walking. Gaudi and I fell in love several times, and I could sit and sing amongst the mosaics forever. The day began with a delightful breakfast at the hotel which consisted of blood sausage, German baloney, & other meats, cheeses, paistries, poached egg, and esspresso. Esspresso was a bad idea, because by mid-day I crashed and it was at one of Gaudi’s designed houses, but I was still very happy even though all  could do was sit, and watch everyone else walk. I just sat on the rooftops and soaked in the sunshine. I prayed that I too will get to design for the people that need it, and make the most out of my talent. I have hope for design to grow in America. My goals today were met and I exceeded my expectations here in Barcelona. I think I will be back soon, hopefully at my most fruitful within in my career. I would hope to live and design here for some time. Alright well I have pictures, and sketches to show. Enjoy!

_MG_0692_MG_0293_MG_0179_MG_0138_MG_0646 _MG_0608_MG_0414_MG_0454  GothicIMG_0075 _MG_0173

Leave a Reply

